News from the Membership

The member publishers of AAUP and the work they do are a major force in our intellectual and cultural life, and in the heart of their communities and fields. Here you'll find word of major achievements and milestones, including award-winning publications, press anniversaries and recognitions, and personnel announcements. AAUP also maintains directories of major digital publishing projects and collaborative initiatives. Keep up with even more news by following Books for Understanding.

Latest News

June 2015: The Institute for Aegean Prehistory (INSTAP) Academic Press is joining AAUP as an introductory member. INSTAP was founded in 1982 to support historical initatives related to the period from the Paleolithic era to the 8th century B.C. and created the INSTAP Academic Press in 2001 to publish primary source material from excavations. We are excited to welcome them into the fold and look forward to working with such a historically important organization.

November 2014: The newest member of our family hails from George Mason University in the greater D.C. metropolitan area. The George Mason University Press, which specializes in history and politics, published its first book in 1983 but closed down due to economic reasons in the late 1990's. Now, we are happy to welcome a revitalized George Mason University Press into our growing and diverse community of university presses. We look forward to seeing them at AAUP 2015, which will take place June 18-20, 2015 in Denver, CO.

November 2014: The Ohio State University Press, founded in 1957, joins the AAUP membership this month. Ohio State publishes over thirty new books a year and a number of journals, the most notable being the Journal of Higher Education. With published works reaching from Victorian studies to foreign-language pedagogy, Ohio State University Press adds to the hugely diverse range of scholarly works published by AAUP member presses every year. Welcome, Ohio State!

August 2014: AAUP is pleased to welcome Amherst College Press as a new member. A press still in its infancy, Amherst operates on three core principles: "Digital First. Open Access. Liberal Arts." The undertaking is ambitious, with their goals (i) to attract scholarly works from a wide variety of disciplines, (ii) to use the faculty of Amherst College and affiliate scholars as an editorial board, ensuring interesting and peer-reviewed work is published, and (iii) "to produce this scholarship in formats accessible to scholars and readers everywhere for no cost through the Internet, and at the lowest practical cost in print."

See more press news >

Latest Prizes

Juan Felipe Herrera Named US Poet Laureate

The 2015-2016 21st Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry has been named by the Library of Congress and it is none other than Juan Felipe Herrerra. Herrera has a long and storied career in poetry, having published seven collections of peoms with the University of Arizona Press, as well as others with the University of New Mexico Press and Temple University Press. James H. Billington, the Librarian of Congress, said, "I see in Herrera’s poems the work of an American original. His poems engage in a serious sense of play—in language and in image—that I feel gives them enduring power. I see how they champion voices, traditions, and histories, as well as a cultural perspective, which is a vital part of our larger American identity.”

Herrera is the first Mexican-American poet laureate and will be participating in the Library of Congress National Book Festival on September 5, as well as kicking off the annual literary season with a reading of his poems at the Coolidge Auditorium on September 15.

2015 James Beard Book Award, Cookbook of the Year

Yucatan CookbookJoining the list of James Beard Award-winning members (Oxford University Press and the University of California Press) is the University of Texas Press, with David Sterling's Yucatán: Recipes from a Culinary Expedition taking home this year's "Cookbook of the Year" prize. Due to it's isolated geographical position, the Yucatán Peninsula has retained much of the heritage that came to Mexico during European expansion, allowing the region to perfect an explosively powerful flavor profile combining the best of both the old and new worlds. Congratulations to both David Sterling and the University of Texas Press for the James Beard Award and make sure you check out Yucatán: Recipes from a Culinary Expedition the next time you're feeling culinarily adventurous.


Liverpool University Press Wins Two Prestigious Awards

Congratulations are in order for Liverpool University Press for not only winning "Academic, Educational and Professional Publisher of the Year 2015" at the Bookseller Industry Awards, but also being the first university press to win the "Academic and Professional Publisher of the Year" honor at this year's International Publishers Guild Awards. Of their current streak, LUP Managing Director Anthony Cond said, "LUP's consistent success reflects a commitment to the highest standards of academic publishing, with our academic colleagues very much at the centre of all that we do.

See more press prizes >